Transformist

While I have you on hand, why not take the opportunity to sign up for the newsletter?
Simple and free, your email will remain confidential on a secure server
I will be able to keep you informed :
dates of public performances, new shows, new videos, new numbers, exclusions, ...
You will not receive more than one email per month!

ABONNEZ-VOUS À LA NEWSLETTER !

WE DREAM !

Have you ever dreamed of being for a second, for a moment, for a minute of eternity suspended, someone else, an incredible person; to leave your own skin, and, freed from the limits of reality, to reach an elsewhere of oneself by a metamorphosis that seems instant, enigmatic, fabulous?
 
This worrying and crazy dream is what I accomplish, first in front of the mirror, then on the stage, every night, me the transformist ...
Magic brushes, rice powder and perlimpinpin ...
Under my fingers, the magic operates, the reflection of Miss Caline appears.
 
To be in Harmony and in affinity with the character, I will have to analyze, to immerse myself in his every gesture, to observe and feel his emotions, expressions, manias, and more: to be possessed, to evoke in a few minutes an interpretation of the star that we imitate, that we mime, that we parody, express something of ourselves through this reference.
 
In the dim light of the stage, dressed in rhinestones, feathers and sequins, I, Miss Caline, gasped, my heart beating, and stars in my eyes ...
 
An exhilarating wait begins ...
 
The first notes of the melody resound, the lights come alive ...

 The curtain finally rises on my dream that begins ...

Transformist : A job!

No transformist artist interprets a character like his colleague: with more or less talent, professionalism, in the manner of a painter who makes a portrait by printing his own sensitivity, the transformist artist evokes the character, it is a living and moving portrait. A sculpture in motion and this sculpture is itself.
One can notice in this respect that certain artists return in imitations, certain figures of women high in colors, extreme, endowed with a strong personality and celebrity (Dalida, Mylène, Madonna, etc.). And the interest of the thing is that they are interpreted by men, who transcend their data of departure to metamorphose. And that is what makes them so fascinating, because they reduce the fatal margin that separates gender and gender. In a fleeting moment, the opposites are abolished, merged, outdated.
You only have to see the intense emotion aroused by the man-woman transformation numbers, when under the masculine costume are hidden feminine outfits extracted in the blink of an eye from clothes designed for a strapless dressing: velcro closures, pressures at the right place to snatch in one second the three-piece suit and bring up evening dress or corset.
This is where the transition from one genre to another is dramatized, symbolized, and fascinating.
One can use what one felt as attraction, as hope, as energy, for a corporal transformation. Vertigo of desire for oneself. This fascination with the mirror can be repeated, perpetuated by the transformist exercise. It is an infinite psychic pleasure, a vertigo of the loss of oneself, for reunion with other parts of oneself.
That's what I live because I'm on both sides of the barrier, fascinated spectator and enlightened transformist, I hope.
It requires passion, questioning, "feeling" and work, more work than one thinks. Including that of costume designer (I often do my costumes) ... not to mention the thankless work of play-back.
It must prove to be "trans-orchestra"
Sometimes I use my bodily transformation - that is, the flatness of my torso - to further obscure the tracks, to give some ambiguity. The viewer often scrutinizes the attitude and body of the artist to detect the biological origin of it, we must not hide it. Are we all "fair beasts" of a new kind? I do not hear it that way, because I think that the quality of the performance makes it possible to transcend this situation, and that it is necessary to allow the spectator to remember, above all, the artistic performance, the beauty.
The body is given to be seen and not hidden as an object of embarrassment or shame. We must be able to psychologically assume this view of the viewer, and make his difference an asset.
It is the splendor of the costume and the whole of the interpretation which is largely the attraction of the transformist.
I leave you to your reflection.
My answer, and at the risk of making you jump ... on your feathers, I repeat:
Transformer, a man's job!

Transformiste

Un rêve !

N'avez vous jamais rêvé d'être pour une seconde, pour un instant, pour une minute d'éternité suspendue, quelqu'un d'autre, un personnage inouï ; d'abandonner votre propre peau, et, libéré des limites de la réalité, accéder à un ailleurs de soi-même par une métamorphose qui semble instantanée, énigmatique, fabuleuse ?
 
Ce rêve inquiétant et fou, c'est ce que j'accomplis, d'abord devant le miroir, puis sur la scène, chaque soir, moi le transformiste ... 

Pinceaux magiques, poudre de riz et de perlimpinpin...

Sous mes doigts, la magie opère, le reflet de Miss Caline apparait.
 
Pour être en Harmonie et en affinité avec le personnage, il me faudra analyser, m'imprégner de ses moindres gestes, observer et ressentir ses émotions, expressions, manies, et plus : en être possédé, pour évoquer en quelques minutes une interprétation de la star que l'on imite, que l'on mime, que l'on parodie, exprimer quelque chose de soi à travers cette référence.
 
Dans la pénombre de la scène, vêtue de strass, de plumes et de paillettes, moi, Miss Caline, le souffle coupé, le cœur battant, et des étoiles plein les yeux...
 
Une attente exaltante débute...
 
Les premières notes de la mélodie résonnent, les lumières s'animent...

 Le rideau enfin se lève sur mon rêve qui commence...



Transformiste : Un métier !

Aucun artiste transformiste n'interprète un personnage comme son confrère : avec plus ou moins de talent, de professionnalisme, à la manière d'un peintre qui fait un portrait en imprimant sa propre sensibilité, l'artiste transformiste évoque le personnage, c'est un portrait vivant et mouvant. Une sculpture en mouvement et cette sculpture c'est lui-même.

On peut remarquer à ce titre que certaines artistes reviennent dans les imitations, certaines figures de femmes hautes en couleurs, extrêmes, dotées d'une forte personnalité et de célébrité (Dalida, Mylène,madonna, etc.). Et l'intérêt de la chose, c'est qu'elles sont interprétées par des hommes, qui transcendent leurs données de départ pour se métamorphoser. Et c'est cela qui opère la fascination qu'ils provoquent, car ils réduisent la marge fatale qui sépare les sexes et les genres. En un instant fugace, les opposés sont abolis, fusionnés, dépassés.

Il suffit de voir l'intense émotion que suscitent les numéros de transformation homme-femme, quand sous le costume masculin se cachent des atours féminins extraits en un clin d'œil de vêtements prévus pour un déshabillage éclair : fermetures velcro, pressions au bon endroit pour arracher en une seconde le costume trois-pièces et faire surgir robe du soir ou guêpière.

C'est là que la transition d'un genre à l'autre est théâtralisée, symbolisée, et qu'elle revêt un caractère fascinant.

On peut utiliser ce que l'on a ressenti comme attrait, comme espoir, comme énergie, pour une transformation corporelle. Vertige du désir pour soi-même. Cette fascination devant le miroir peut être recommencée, perpétuée par l'exercice transformiste. C'est un plaisir psychique infini, un vertige de la perte de soi, pour des retrouvailles avec d'autres parties de soi-même.

C'est ce que je vis car je suis des deux côtés de la barrière, spectateur fasciné et transformiste éclairé, j'espère.

Il faut pour cela de la passion, de la remise en question, du "feeling" et du travail, plus de travail qu'on ne pense. Dont celui de costumier (je fais souvent mes costumes)... sans oublier le travail ingrat du play-back.

Il faut s'avérer être "trans-orchestre"

Il m'arrive d'utiliser ma transformation corporelle - c'est-à-dire la platitude de mon torse - pour brouiller encore les pistes, donner de l'ambiguïté. Le spectateur souvent scrute l'attitude et le corps de l'artiste pour déceler l'origine biologique de celui-ci, il ne faut pas se le cacher. Sommes-nous pour autant des "bêtes de foire" d'un nouveau genre ? Je ne l'entends pas ainsi, car je pense que la qualité de la prestation permet de transcender cette situation, et qu'il faut permettre au spectateur de se souvenir avant tout de la performance artistique, de la beauté.
Le corps est donné à voir et non caché comme un objet de gêne ou de honte. Il faut pouvoir assumer psychologiquement ce regard du spectateur, et faire de sa différence un atout.
C'est la splendeur du costume et l'ensemble de l'interprétation qui fait en grande partie l'attrait du transformiste.

Je vous laisse à votre réflexion.

Ma réponse, et au risque de vous faire bondir... sur vos plumes, je réitère :

transformiste, un métier d'homme !